Tournament News
Tournament News
Tournament Notes

NAPLES, Fla. (December 8, 2020) – For the 20th consecutive year, the QBE Shootout comes to Tiburon Golf Club at The Ritz-Carlton Golf Resort, Naples and 24 individuals will compete as 12 two-man teams. The event is celebrating its 32nd year on the PGA TOUR calendar. The tournament is the longest running PGA TOUR-sanctioned post-season event. Here are some notes regarding what has become a favorite annual gathering for professionals, amateurs, and fans:

Winners: The field includes eight players who won last season or the early part of this year’s PGA TOUR season. This group of players combined for nine victories and is led by Brendon Todd, who won two times during that span. Other winners include Daniel Berger, Cameron Champ, Lanto Griffin, Kevin Na, Marc Leishman, Sebastian Munoz and Cameron Smith.

Coming from Mayakoba: Half of the twenty-four players in the field competed at last week’s Mayakoba Golf Classic presented by UNIFIN. Ten of those made the cut and include Abraham Ancer, Daniel Berger, Harris English, Tony Finau, Billy Horschel, Joaquin Niemann, Rory Sabbatini, Steve Stricker, Brendon Todd and Harold Varner III. Marc Leishman and Sebastian Munoz missed the cut.

Masters Tournament Performances: Seven QBE Shootout participants finished inside the top 25 in last month’s Masters Tournament. Cameron Smith, who finished T2, set a Masters’ record by becoming the first player to shoot all four rounds in the 60s. Abraham Ancer, Marc Leishman and Kevin Na all finished tied for 13th place while Cameron Champ and Sebastian Muñoz had strong showings with a four-way tie for 19th. Louis Oosthuizen finished 23rd.

World Rankings: This year’s field will feature five of the top 25 and 15 of the top 50 ranked players in the world including world #13 Daniel Berger, #14 Matthew Wolff, #18 Tony Finau and #21 Louis Oosthuizen and #23 Abraham Ancer. Tournament host, Greg Norman held the No. 1 position for 331 weeks.

First-Time Shootout Participants: Eight players will be competing for the first time in the QBE Shootout. Here are the rookies in the field this year: World #23 Abraham Ancer, Lanto Griffin, Mackenzie Hughes, Marc Leishman, Sebastian Munoz, Joaquin Niemann, Louis Oosthuizen, and Cameron Smith.

Returning to Naples: Several QBE Shootout veterans are set to return including Steve Stricker, who will be making his 12th appearance. Others returning to Naples are two-time Masters Champion Bubba Watson who will be making his 4th consecutive and 6th appearance overall, Billy Horschel playing for the 8th straight year, Ryan Palmer competing for the 3rd time and Harold Varner III who will be making this 3rd straight appearance in Naples.

Past Champions: Past Shootout champions Harris English, Matt Kuchar, Steve Stricker and Sean O’Hair will join defending champions Rory Sabbatini and Kevin Tway.

Rookie Team Winners: Other than the first year of the tournament in 1989, the only time two individuals, both making their first start and paired together, won the QBE Shootout were Keegan Bradley and Brendan Steele in 2011.

Rookie Winners: Fourteen players have won the QBE Shootout in their first attempt: Mark O’Meara (1989), Curtis Strange (1989), Fred Couples (1990), Tom Purtzer (1991), Scott McCarron (1997), Hank Kuehne (2003), Rod Pampling (2006), Woody Austin (2007), Keegan Bradley (2011), Brendan Steele (2011), Harris English (2013), Cameron Tringale (2014), Patton Kizzire (2018) and Kevin Tway (2019).

FedExCup: One player in the field has won the FedExCup title in the past seven seasons; Billy Horschel captured the year-long title in 2014.

Youthful: The teams of Matthew Wolff/Abraham Ancer and Sebastian Munoz/ Joaquin Niemann represent the youngest teams in the event. Wolff is 21, Niemann is 22, Munoz is 27 and Ancer is 29.

Repeat Pairings: The four returning teams include defending champions Rory Sabbatini and Kevin Tway. Two-time winners Harris English and Matt Kuchar reunite this year for the first time since 2017. They won the Shootout in 2013 and 2016. Ryan Palmer and Harold Varner III as well as Billy Horschel and Brendon Todd are together again. Both teams finished T3 last year.

New Teams: Eight of the 12 teams in this year’s Shootout will be together for the first time.

Most Appearances: Steve Stricker will be making his 12th appearance followed by Rory Sabbatini (11th) Sean O’Hair (10th), Matt Kuchar (10th), Billy Horschel (8th) and Harris English (6th). Horschel has the most consecutive starts of any player in the field followed by English.

Total # of PGA TOUR Victories: As a group, the 24 players in the field have accumulated 81 PGA TOUR victories during their respective careers. Bubba Watson and Steve Stricker lead the pack with 12 each.

Format Reminder: The order of formats for each competitive round was modified in 2014 and is Scramble (Friday), Modified Alternate Shot (Saturday) and Four Ball (Sunday).

TV Schedule: Friday’s first round will be broadcast live by Golf Channel from 11 a.m. -3:00 p.m. Saturday’s second round will be broadcast live on Golf Channel from 1:00-5:00 p.m. and Sunday’s final round will be live on NBC from 12:00-2:00 p.m. then shifts to Golf Channel from 2:00-4:00 p.m.