Tournament News
Tournament News
Tournament Notes

NAPLES, Fla. (December 4, 2018) – For the 18th consecutive year, the QBE Shootout comes to Tiburón Golf Club at The Ritz-Carlton Golf Resort, Naples and 24 individuals will compete as 12 two-person teams. The event is celebrating its 30th year on the PGA TOUR calendar. The tournament is the longest running PGA TOUR-sanctioned post-season event. Here are some notes regarding what has become a favorite annual gathering for professionals, amateurs and fans:

Winners: The field includes 12 players who won last season or the early part of this year’s PGA TOUR season. That group of players combined for 18 victories and was led by Bryson DeChambeau, who has won four times during that span. Bubba Watson has collected three victories and Patton Kizzire two. Other winners, during that timeframe, include Lexi Thompson, Cameron Champ, Billy Horschel, Charles Howell III, Andrew Landry, Kevin Na, Pat Perez, Brandt Snedeker and Gary Woodland.

World Rankings: Three of the players in the field are among the top ten and 15 of the 24 players in the field are ranked among the top 60 in the world, including Lexi Thompson, who is ranked 5th among the ladies. Here are the others: 5 Bryson DeChambeau, 9 Tony Finau, 17 Bubba Watson, 30 Gary Woodland, 33 Kyle Stanley, 34 Kevin Kisner, 35 Billy Horschel, 45 Kevin Na, 48 Emiliano Grillo, 52 Brandt Snedeker, 53 Brian Harman, 54 Charley Hoffman, 56 Luke List, 59 Charles Howell. Luke Donald is the only player in the field who once held the No.1 ranking in the world. He did so in 2012. Tournament Host, Greg Norman, who will be competing in the pro-am portion of the event, held the No. 1 position for 331 weeks.

Lexi is Back: For the fourth time in tournament history, one of the stars in women’s golf will compete. Lexi Thompson, a ten-time winner on the LPGA and the world’s No. 5 ranked player among ladies, will play with Tony Finau as she competes in the tournament for the third consecutive year. In 2016, the 23-year-old became the second LPGA player to compete, when she played with Bryson DeChambeau. In 2006, Annika Sorenstam teamed with Fred Couples.

FedExCup Champs: Two players in the field have won the FedExCup title in the past six years. Brandt Snedeker won it in 2012 and Billy Horschel in 2014. Charles Howell III currently holds the top spot in this season’s FedExCup standings. Nine players in the field are among the current top 30.

Watch out for Team Birthday Boys: Teammates Billy Horschel and Brandt Snedeker celebrate back-to-back birthdays during the weekend this year. Horschel will be 32 on Friday and Snedeker 38 on Saturday. Luke Donald turns 41 on Friday.

Youthful: Tony Finau, 29, and Lexi Thompson, 23, are the youngest team in the field and are two of five players in their 20s competing this week. Cameron Champ is 23, Bryson DeChambeau 25 and Emiliano Grillo 26.

Repeat Pairings: Defending champions Sean O’Hair and Steve Stricker will attempt to become the first team to repeat as champions since 2004. Last year, O’Hair and Stricker became the second team of past champions paired together for the first time to win. The first was Brad Faxon and Scott McCarron, who won in 2000 playing together for the first time. Tony Finau and Lexi Thompson are a team for the second consecutive year, finishing T4 last year.

New Teams: Ten of the 12 teams in this year’s Shootout will be together for the first time.

Most Appearances: Steve Stricker will be making his 11th consecutive appearance in the tournament, the most by any player in the field. Charles Howell III is making his 10th start, but not in consecutive order.

Total # of PGA TOUR Victories: As a group, the 24 players in the field have accumulated 92 PGA TOUR and LPGA victories during their respective careers. Steve Stricker and Bubba Watson have 12 each. Lexi Thompson has ten and Brandt Snedeker nine.

2018 Ryder Cup Participants: Representatives from this year’s U.S. Ryder Cup team include Bryson DeChambeau, Tony Finau and Bubba Watson as players along with Steve Stricker as a vice-captain. Graeme McDowell served as a vice-captain for the European team.

First-Time Shootout Participants: Seven players will be competing for the first time in the QBE Shootout—Cameron Champ, Emiliano Grillo, Patton Kizzire, Andrew Landry, Luke List, Kevin Na and Harold Varner III.

Rookie Winners: Eleven players have won the QBE Shootout in their first attempt: Mark O’Meara (1989), Curtis Strange (1989), Fred Couples (1990), Scott McCarron (1997), Hank Kuehne (2003), Rod Pampling (2006), Woody Austin (2007), Keegan Bradley (2011), Brendan Steele (2011), Harris English (2013) and Cameron Tringale (2014).

Format Reminder: The order of formats for each competitive round was modified in 2014 and is Scramble (Friday), Modified Alternate Shot (Saturday) and Four Ball (Sunday).

TV Schedule: Friday’s first round will be broadcast live by Golf Channel from 1:30-4:30 p.m. Saturday’s second round will be broadcast live on Golf Channel from 1:30-2:30 p.m. and on NBC from 2:30-4:30 p.m. Sunday’s final round will be live on Golf Channel from 1:00-2:00 p.m. and on NBC from 2:00-4:00 p.m.