Tournament News
Tournament News
Final Round Notes – Sunday, December 11, 2022
Weather Mostly sunny. High of 81. Wind WNW 6-12 mph.
Format R1/Scramble, R2/Modified Alternate Shot, R3/Four-Ball
Final Leaderboard
Tom Hoge/Sahith Theegala60-60-62—182 (-34)
Charley Hoffman/Ryan Palmer56-62-65—183 (-33)
Harris English/Matt Kuchar60-62-62—184 (-32)
Max Homa/Kevin Kisner58-65-63—186 (-30)
Trey Mullinax/Scott Stallings61-66-62—189 (-27)
Nelly Korda/Denny McCarthy60-67-62—189 (-27)
Steve Stricker/Cameron Young62-63-65—190 (-26)
Brian Harman/Sepp Straka60-69-62—191 (-25)
Corey Conners/K. H. Lee58-68-65—191 (-25)
Maverick McNealy/Lexi Thompson60-67-65—192 (-24)
Jason Day/Billy Horschel61-61-70—192 (-24)
Keith Mitchell/J.J. Spaun60-69-64—193 (-23)
Tom Hoge/Sahith Theegala (-34/1st)
  • With rounds of 60-60-62—182, first-time participants moved from T4 after round one, to second after round two before claiming victory at the QBE Shootout
  • After the team failed to birdie the par-5 17th hole and headed to No. 18 tied with Charley Hoffman/Ryan Palmer at 33-under, Theegala drained a 20-foot birdie putt and watched both Hoffman and Palmer miss from shorter range to win by one stroke
  • 182 total ties second-best score in tournament history: 179 (-37) by Harris English/Matt Kuchar in 2020
  • Both Hoge and Theegala join a group of 13 players who had previously won the QBE Shootout in their first appearance, most recently Kevin Tway (teamed with Rory Sabbatini) in 2019
  • Duo become third rookie team to win the QBE Shootout, and first since Keegan Bradley/Brendan Steele in 2011; in 1989, Mark O’Meara/Curtis Strange were victorious in the inaugural event
  • For the fifth consecutive year, 30-under or better is the winning score at the QBE Shootout
  • For the second year in a row, four teams finished at 30-under or better; prior to 2021, the only time three teams completed the same QBE Shootout at 30-under or better was 2002
  • Hoge (229) and Theegala (51) have combined for 280 PGA TOUR starts; Hoge captured his first PGA TOUR title earlier this year at the AT&T Pebble Beach Pro-Am while Theegala has two runner-up results on TOUR in 2022 (Travelers Championship, RSM Classic)
Miscellaneous Notes
  • In the Four-Ball format, both players on a team play their own ball and the lower score on each hole is the score for the hole
  • Charley Hoffman/Ryan Palmer (-33/2nd), who held the first- and second-round leads, were attempting to become the fifth wire-to-wire winners of the QBE Shootout and first since Jason Day/Cameron Tringale in 2014; Hoffman/Palmer have combined to compete in nine QBE Shootouts prior to this year, but are teamed together for the first time
  • Teamed together for the eighth time, Harris English/Matt Kuchar (-32/3rd) began the final round four strokes back in their bid to become the first team with four victories at the QBE Shootout title; duo secure a tournament-record seven top-five finishes by a team at the QBE Shootout
  • Max Homa/Kevin Kisner (-30/4th) improve on their T5 at this event last year when they teamed together for the first time; the pair are one of two returning teams this year, joining Harris English/Matt Kuchar; 10 of the 12 teams in this year’s QBE Shootout are together for the first time
  • Five teams tie for low round of the day with 62 (-10), including Nelly Korda/Denny McCarthy (-27/T5); Korda posts the second top-five finish by an LPGA professional in tournament history (T4/2017 by Lexi Thompson/Tony Finau)
  • For the second day in a row, Keith Mitchell/J.J. Spaun (-23/12th) were the only team with two eagles in the round (R2/Nos. 1 and 6, R3/Nos. 1 and 17); the only other eagle recorded in the final round was at the par-4 13th hole by Trey Mullinax/Scott Stallings
  • Ten first-time participants: Tom Hoge, Nelly Korda, Denny McCarthy, Maverick McNealy, Keith Mitchell, Trey Mullinax, J.J. Spaun, Sepp Straka, Sahith Theegala, Cameron Young
  • This week’s QBE Shootout marks the 34th edition of the event; The Ritz-Carlton Naples, Tiburon is hosting for a 22nd consecutive year